You are here Country profiles > Kiribati

General information

This map is an approximation of actual country borders.

The Republic of Kiribati, located in the Pacific, consists of 32 low-lying atolls and one volcanic island in three main groups, the Gilbert, Phoenix and Line Islands. The country spreads over 3.5 million kilometres of ocean, but has a total land area of only 811 square kilometres.

The 2010 census counted a population of 103 466. The average population density is 128 per square kilometre, but this varies widely between islands.

Learn more about Kiribati (CHIPS 2011) ... 

Country statistics

Health profiles

Related reports & publications